Record number of participants in the 21st Logicom Cyprus Marathon

The streets of Pafos were flooded once again by around 3,500 runners who participated in the 21st Logicom Cyprus Marathon, held on Sunday, 17th March 2019. Once again, the most historic Marathon of the island of Cyprus has surpassed all expectations both in numbers and in quality of service. The Running festival incorporated 4 distances on Sunday with a Marathon, Half-Marathon, 10km Race and a 5km Fun Run. On Friday 15th March, a 5km “Cyprus Wine Run” was organized at the Vasilikon Winery in the picturesque village of Kathikas. Added to the running events, the “Cyprus Marathon Symposium” was organized for the first time, which included lectures from all parts of the running world such as technology, history, performance, impact on society and sports tourism. The story of the day was the back to back win of the British runner Adam Holland who won in 2 hours 35 minutes and 3 seconds, just 2 minutes away from a Course Record. Adam reclaimed his crown as the Logicom Cyprus Marathon Champion with more than 7 minutes difference from the second Ian Livesey (finish time of 2:42:31), also from Great Britain.

The podium was completed by the Romanian Szocs Elod who finished in 2 hours 53 minutes and 27 seconds. The 4th place was claimed by the Cypriot Pavlos Mavrogiannis, part of the Logicom Running Team. In the women, the trophy was claimed again by a British and this time it was Abi Gooch representing Redway Runners from Milton Keynes with a time of 3 hours 23 minutes 15 seconds. Just a minute behind was the German Judith Havers with a time of 3:24:52 who was also challenged by the 3rd woman, the British Kirsty Barkle with a time of 3:27:27. The best time for the Team Competition was achieved by British Team Portsmouth Joggers with a time score of 14 hours 26 minutes and 29 seconds. Second were the Redway Runners in 15:18:55 and 3rd the Polish KKB Mosir Krosno with a time of 15:23:53. The trophies were handed by Logicom’s CFO, Mr. Anthoulis Papachristoforou.

The Top 3 Men in the Marathon! In the Half-Marathon it was mostly a case for the Central Europe with the winner László Tarnai coming from Hungary to win the trophy with a time of 1 hour 11 minutes and 49 seconds. He was fiercely challenged by 2nd place British runner Michael Deason who finished just 2 seconds behind and the podium was completed just after 10 seconds from the Ukrainian Oleksandr Shelest with a time of 1:12:02. In the women, Lithuanian Eurelija Venskaityte beat the Hungarian Dr. Bakonyi Fruzsina Szekeresné by just 10 seconds with a time of 1:22:14 and 1:22:24 respectively. Great Britain had to be represented on the podium and Katie Tucker representing Redway Runners managed to finish in 3rd place with a time of 1 hour 31 minutes and 49 seconds. The best time for the Team Competition was achieved by Polish Team STOKOWCZYKI with a time score of 5 hours 34 minutes and 56 seconds. The Half-Marathon had the most participation from all races with around 800 finishers. 10km Runners having fun in the sun while they run! It was a Lithuanian runner who took the first place in the 10km Race, Dalius Pavliukovicius representing NEKO Runners won it in 33 minutes and 32 seconds. Just 20 seconds behind, Russian Andrei Alypov came rushing at the finish line chased by team mate and compatriot Dmitriy Esaulov with a time of 34 minutes and 15 seconds. The German Carolin Mattern won the women’s category with a time of 37 minutes and 20 seconds and last year’s winner, Olga Andrejeva from Estonia, came in second with a time of 38 minutes and 44 seconds. Russian Olga Dedova rounded up the podium with a time of 39 minutes and 26 minutes. The best time for the Team Competition was achieved by the APOEL Runners with a time score of 2 hours 53 minutes and 36 seconds.  Around 1,500 runners/walkers took part in the 5 km fun run which shows that year by year it attracts not only citizens from the city of Paphos but also from other cities in Cyprus as well as people from all around the world. For the record, the Lithuanian runner Dainius Stanionis finished first with a time of 16 minutes and 54 seconds.

The Cypriot Avraamis Avraam finished second with 17 minutes and 2 seconds. Another Lithuanian, Romas Bazelis, completed the podium with 17 minutes and 8 seconds. In the women’s category, the runner of Dro.Me.A. Racing, Elpida Christodoulidou took the first place with a time of 20 minutes and 15 seconds. Just a few seconds behind her, another Cypriot, Louiza Tsianakka claimed the second spot with a time of 20 minutes and 40 seconds and Latvian Iveta Pupola completed the podium with 20 minutes 51 seconds. The prize for the biggest team in participation numbers was won by Logicom Running Team for another year! Runners ran around the archaeological site of Paphos on a highly attractive and scenic route!

The race was organized with an objective of promoting running as a part of a healthy lifestyle and attracted the participation of several Cypriot and foreign runners. Getting ready before the Start! It is also worth mentioning that without the valuable help of over 200 volunteers the organization could not have become a reality. Also, the support of companies and organizations such as Logicom, the Deputy Ministry of Tourism, DHL Cyprus, Scaffolding Solutions, High5 Sports Nutrition, Pafos Regional Board of Tourism, Aristo Developers, Shadeports, Bikehub stores, Famous Sports, Asics, Biofreeze, Almyra Hotel, Paphos Municipality, Private Evangelismos Hospital, Aliathon Hotel, Louis Ledra Beach Hotel, Atlantic Insurance and Fotokinisi, contributed to the immense success of the most historic Marathon of Cyprus. The next event, the 22nd Logicom Cyprus Marathon is scheduled for Sunday, March 15, 2019. The symbol of Greek and Cypriot sport, Stelios Kyriakides, who was born in Pafos in 1910 and won the Boston Marathon in 1946! This year’s Cyprus Marathon was dedicated to the great symbol of Greek and Cypriot sport, Stelios Kyriakides, winner of the Boston Marathon in 1946.

Scroll to Top